Provided with the support of

Lesson details

Tea is typically classified into six types: white, green, yellow, oolong, black, and puerh. But to create these varieties it all comes down to the oxidation process. In general, the less tea is oxidized the more gentle and lighter the taste, whereas more oxidized teas will yield a darker infusion. But there are exceptions to this rule.

What you'll learn in the Types of tea lesson

  • The 2 categories of tea
  • What they mean

Who the Tea fundamentals course is for

Whether you have a curated tea menu or are looking at delving into the world of tea, this online course is perfect for those seeking to understand why tea has become the second most consumed beverage in the world.


Nathan Wakeford

Nathan Wakeford is Director of Somage Fine Foods and considered by many to be the foremost authority of tea in Australia.

Read More